Thursday, May 31, 2012

Bombs Away!

Recently I've decided to switch to strictly online shopping. (Okay, not all of the time.) But I decided it would help save a lottttt of money because I would only buy things I actually took the time to search for, instead of just seeing something inside a store that's cute and impulsively buying it.
While getting into this, I stumbled across this clothing company entitled "Bombs Away."
This site was pretty much made for nerds: Disney nerds, Marvel nerds, Star Wars, Hunger Games, Harry Potter, etc. Now as a Marvel fan (okay and Disney--okay, okay and Harry Potter) I found this site very interesting, and relatively cheap! The prices are in Euros, but even after the conversion these prices are definitely affordable.
These are already in my shopping cart for when I get paid Friday.

 Bandit Snow White Laptop Decal 
 Marvel Comics Red on Black Tshirt
 The Avengers Iron Man Tshirt
Banksy Maid in London Wall Sticker


It's not a lot, but I don't want to seem too overboard on the first visit, you know how it is. In any case, it's definitely worth checking out, especially if you happen to channel your inner nerd. You can check out the website here. And if you have a tumblr, you can follow them here.

*Update: June 9, 2012
For some reason, the Marvel option in their "Collection" drop-down menu has disappeared, so the Avengers and Iron Man shirts are no longer available here for the time being. However, the wall sticker and decal are still available--as well as any of the other aforementioned items such as Harry Potter, Hunger Games, and Star Wars items.

Friday, May 25, 2012

Tribal patterns for summer

I've been really into prints lately, so the other day to celebrate the end of my finals, and the end of my first year at CSULB I decided to treat myself to something cute. I bought mostly bottoms (since my tops to bottoms ratio is like 25:1) like leggings and cute stretchy shorts. I'm just not thattt much of a jeans person. I like to wear fitted jeans once in a while and be comfortable but I'm always either in leggings, high waisted shorts, or skirts.
So here's what I got all from a cute little story named Adri.

Black printed bottoms. More winter-y than summer-y but hey it'll work.


These bright blue leggings that I'm in loove with.


This cropped fringed top which is actually from F21, not Adri.


& These cute printed tribal shorts which are probably my favorite.

Not much for a shopping trip, but when you're ballin' on a budget (#collegeproblems), it'll have to do. Can't wait to make new combo outfits with these prints, and I can't wait for my next paycheck to get more!

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Met Madness: The Gala 2012

Okay fashionistas, so it's been a while. But I'm here and I'm back and ready to talk about the only thing I would be blogging about on a Tuesday even though I have finals to study for--four words: Met Gala Red Carpet.

Let me first just say, I think the look everyone was going for here was the long, almost-royalty look because all of these dresses shared a common theme: that flowy trailing-behind wedding dress look.
I mean first there is Lea Michele in a Diane von Furstenberg, Amy Adams in Giambattista Valli, Bee Shafer in Erdem, and even Amy Poehler in Fotini.

But not everyone was going for that cinderella-y look, there was also the short-dresses crowd, and then the yes-I'm-wearing-a-full-length-dress,-but-no-it's-not-touching-the-floor clique. 

So let's review the attendees, shall we?
These are some of the best looks of the night, in my opinion.
Bee Shaffer in Erdem. 

Anna Wintour in Prada.
Both Bee and Anna just know how to do it right. Like mother, like daughter, right? Anna looks fabulous and exemplifies her style perfectly of course.And I think her daughter is following her lead. It's going to be interesting to see what Bee will be wearing to more events, I'm eager to see if her style will change more and more like Anna's or if she will come more into her own.

Mary-Kate Olsen in a black full-length dress by the Row.
From what I've read, she's getting a lot of  bashing for this look, but it is just SO Mary-Kate. I have respect for anyone who has a certain kind of style and sticks to it, and she's doing just that. If Mary-Kate would have showed up a flowy cream dress with bedazzling jewels all over it, well that wouldn't be very Mary-Kate of her, would it? (that's more Ashley, honestly). My only complaint would be the fact that her hair makes her look like she's been struck by lighting, but other than that I'd still maintain that this was one of the better looks of the night. 

Emma Stone in Lavin.
This is my favorite look of the night, honestly, and it sort of surprises me that it is. I just love how bold, daring, and simply cute this entire look is. Her hair, the black bow accesory, and her black shoes are the perfect touch to her vibrant dress. She stood out, and I think that was probably the whole point. She definitely gets my vote for best-dressed of the night.

Christina Ricci in Thakoon.
This look is a little different from what we're used to seeing, but for some reason I do like it. I think the dress is very interesting and I think her shoe choice along with her hairstyling made it very chic. She kept it simple, and I think she comes off looking edgy, but still very elegant.

Jessica Alba in Michael Kors.
Gorgeous. Love the color, the golden accessories that match perfectly. Her wavy hair really brings warmth to the entire outfit. This outfit really makes her glow, don't you think? (and I'm not just saying that because she's wearing gold). My favorite thing about her look is that she just looks not only gorgeous but happy here as well. As Audrey Hepburn once said, "Happy girls are the prettiest."

Sarah Jessica Parker in Valentino.
I think this look could've been very risky for this kind of event. It's a little bit too floral for my taste for these types of things, but I think it works here. Her gold bracelets sort of balance it out and dress the outfit up a bit. I think the full-length sleeves and dress here really work in her advantage. Two thumbs up here for SJP.

 Claire Danes in J. Mendel.
At first I wasn't sure how I felt about Danes here in this white J. Mendel number. But I'm actually going to give this look a thumbs up. There's nothing really wrong and to be honest I think she looks beautiful. Her turquoise clutch accents her white dress, and her hair is really doing work here. My only complaint is that there's not a whole lot going on here. But if it works, it works. 

Lea Michele in Diane von Furstenberg.
I actually really like this look for Lea. The dress is different but nothing too crazy, and I think blue is a nice color for her. There's nothing particularly special here but I definitely think it's a win.

Dakota Fanning, in Louis Vuitton.
I think this is one of my favorite looks. Dakota's always been pretty chic with her red carpet fashion sense. Her gunmetal metallic nail polish has gotten a lot of attention, and I honestly think it's a nice touch. It adds to her clutch but doesn't take away from how elegant she looks here.

And now some of the "okay's" (aka the I-really-WANT-to-like-this-look-but-for-some-reason-I-just-can't category):
Kristen Stewart in Balenciaga.
 I don't completely hate this look, even though I probably should. It's totally wrong for the Met Gala, but it's not necessarily wrong for Kristen. And I'm really an advocate of having your own personal style, and I think that's what Kristen's doing here (and what she's been doing this year). I respect her choice of outfit, but it doesn't really work here. Maybe for some other event, maybe with a jacket, maybe with some different shoes--I'm not even entirely sure WHY I don't like this look. It wasn't a hopeless look, just a hopeless effort. Maybe next time, Stewart.

Coco Rocha in Givenchy.
The more I look at this outfit, I start to like it. But there's sort of a miss here. I appreciate the effort, wearing a cropped blazer with pants isntead of a dress isn't the orthodox route to go for the Met Gala. But still, I'm not 100% sold on this outfit. I'm going to give her a win for her hair because I absolutely adore the pink and curls pinned all to one side, but for the rest of this look I just don't think it works. Her shoes are sort of a soft color, which kind of throws all the bold and vibrant-ness off. Also, her clutch is a golden brown and doesn't work with her silvery crystal ring right next to it on the same hand. This look could use better structure.

Scarlette Johansson in Dolce & Gabbana.
I think I would really like this more if her hair were in a nice updo. But all I can think about this look when I see it is Kate Winslet in Titanic, saying "I'll never let go" to Leo. If her hair was in an updo, I think I would give this look a "hit" instead of a miss but it sort of brings the outfit down. She still looks fabulous but you can't just wear a fabulous dress and let it do all the work.


Some of the worst-dressed:
 Kirsten Dunst in Rodarte. 
I don't really know what Dunst was thinking here (or should I say what her stylist was thinking). I want to like this but I just can't. You're going to a gala here, not a work party. And even if you were going to a work party, this still wouldn't work. I think the colors here are wrong too, this orange-y red just makes me confused. The suit-dress is supposed to be fancy and yet the colors make it have more soft and casual tones, and then with the black belt--it's just a mess.

 January Jones in Versace.
Now I love this dress, let me just first say this. I just don't love this dress on her. I think her body type would have been way better suited for some type of long flowing drapery dress that hit the floor. The strapless look is really unflattering on her because of her bust, I think. Also I think this dress makes her hips look a little bigger than they probably actually are. And in general I don't think neon yellow is her color. The jewelry doesn't really work either. A jade blue with neon yellow? Maybe if the blue was more vibrant but it's sort of dull with makes the look all the more messy. I'm going to have to say pass..

 Rashida Jones in Tory Burch.
I don't think this look is a total miss but to be honest I'm just not a fan of this dress. The floral print is nice but I think next to her tan skin this beige color isn't really working. And the cut of the dress doesn't look nice enough for me. I think Rashida could've done better. She usually always looks so elegant and here I think she looks a little frumpy.


Well there's my review of the night. Just my two cents. All in all I think there were a lot of amazing looks, and I didn't talk about everything of course (now THAT would be a long post), but just the looks that mostly caught my attention. 

Oh and just in case your interested, here are some nice shots of the flowy dresses from the evening:


*Images courtesy of Google Images and Just Jared